Structure of Rajya Sabha - VRGyani


Thursday, January 3, 2019

Structure of Rajya Sabha

Indian government is made up of various adminstrative divisions at various levels.

The supreme authority in legislative authority is the Parliament made up of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Rajya Sabha constitutes of maximum 250 members from different states of India. There is at least 1 member from 1 state. Members of Rajya Sabha are not directly elected by people but they are nominated by the members of legislative assemblies and council of states.

Members of Rajya Sabha are required to have a age of 30 years for nomination. There are 12 nominated members by President. Almost 1/3rd of Rajya Sabha members retire every second year. Although; Lok Sabha can be dissolved by the President in some situations but Rajya Sabha is a permanent body which can't be dissolved.

The vice president of India is Official chairman of Rajya Sabha while a elected member by the Rajya Sabha members becomes the deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha.

Learn about structure of Rajya Sabha in the infographic below.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Trending This Week